Nominations Sought for Distinguished Faculty Award

Each year, we ask the faculty to submit nominations for the Gallaudet University Distinguished Faculty Award, which recognizes an individual who exemplifies the stature of the entire university faculty. We now seek nominations for calendar year 2014.

The individual chosen will be honored at Commencement, and will be asked to give a lecture or workshop to the university community during the 2014-2015 academic year. His or her name will be added to the Distinguished Faculty Wall.   Nominations should be based on excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service. Nominees also should have proven themselves to be active, contributing members of the Gallaudet community. Nominations should include a justification based on the above criteria, and should be accompanied by at least three letters of support.  All materials should be sent to me at no later than Friday, December 19, 2014.   

Recipients of the Distinguished University Faculty Award
(listed with name of awardee's department at time of award)

2013     Dr. Caroline Solomon, Department of Science, Technology and Mathematics
2012     Dr. Dennis Galvan, Department of Psychology
2011     Dr. Joseph G. Kinner, Department of Government and History
2010     Dr. Roger Beach, Department of Counseling
2009     Dr. Barbara J. White, Department of Social Work
2008     Ms. Jean Berube, Department of Physical Education and Recreation
2007     Dr. Donna Mertens, Department of Educational Foundations and Research
2006     Dr. Laurene Simms, Department of Education
2005     Dr. Shirley Shultz-Myers, Honors Program
2004     Ms. Emilia Chukwuma, Department of Business
2003     Dr. Irene Leigh, Department of Psychology
2002     Dr. Ceil Lucas, Department of Linguistics
2001     Dr. Benjamin Bahan, Department of Deaf Studies
2000     Dr. Ann Davidson-Powell, Department of Biology
1999     Dr. Rosemary Weller, Department of Communication Arts
1998     Dr. Sharon Barnartt and Dr. John Christiansen, Department of Sociology
1997     Dr. Stephen Chaikind, Department of Economics and Finance
1996     Dr. Donalda Ammons, Department of Foreign Languages & Literatures
1995     Dr. Barry Crouch, Department of History
1994     Dr. Catherine Anderson, Department of Communication & Developmental Studies
1993     Dr. Janet Pray, Department of Social Work
1992     Dr. Yerker Andersson, Department of Sociology
1991     Dr. John S. Schuchman, Department of History
1990     Dr. Mary Malzkuhn, Department of Government
1989     Dr. William J. A. Marshall, Department of Administration and Supervision
1987     Dr. Nancy Kensicki, Department of English
1986     Dr. Anne Butler, Department of History

 Posted November 25, 2014 

About Gallaudet
2014 Presidential Search
Campus Photos
Clerc Center
Contact Us
Employment Opportunities
Fast Facts
Make an Online Gift
Maps & Directions
Media Inquiries
University Communications
Visitors Center
English Language Institute
Financial Aid
Graduate Admissions
Graduate Orientation
International Admissions
Professional Studies
Test Center
Undergraduate Admissions
Academics & Research
Archives/Deaf Collections
Career Center
Catalog & Course Info
General Studies
Graduate Programs
Honors Program
Office of Academic Quality
Professional Studies
Registrar's Office
Research Support and International Affairs
Undergraduate Majors
Campus Life
Bison Shop (bookstore)
Campus Activities
Food Services
Public Safety
Residence Life and Housing
Washington, D.C.
Tools & Resources
Campus Directory
Daily Digest
Help Desk
Gallaudet Alert-subscribe
GU Press
Kellogg Conference Hotel
Maps & Directions
People @ Gallaudet
Shuttle Bus
Gallaudet University | 800 Florida Avenue NE, Washington, DC 20002
Copyright © 2014 Gallaudet University