Presidential Papers

Gallaudet University has been governed by nine presidents since 1864. Each president's official correspondence, records, and papers are processed at the end of their term. The processed papers become part of the Presidential Papers collection. Personal correspondence and papers of the president are processed as Manuscript Collections and are stored separately. Click on the links below to see inventories of presidential papers.


Edward M. Gallaudet, 1857-1911
Percival Hall, 1910-1945
Leonard M. Elstad, 1945-1969
Edward C. Merrill Jr., 1969-1983
W. Lloyd Johns, 1983
Jerry C. Lee, 1984-1987
Elisabeth A. Zinser, 1988
I. King Jordan, 1988-2006