CGE Council Members


This legislative council shall consist of one member from each department with one or more graduate programs, one member from each interdisciplinary program offering a graduate degree, and one member representing all graduate interdisciplinary certificate programs.  The members shall be elected by their department/program and approved by the UF.  The nominees for membership must have primary responsibility at the graduate level.  At least one-third of the membership shall be comprised of tenured faculty.  The council also includes non-voting members from the Dean's Office, Grdaute Admissions Office, Registrar's Office, and the Graduate Student Association.

  1. This legislative council shall elect a chairperson from its tenured membership who shall also serve as a member of the UF Senate.
  2. The legislative council shall submit a report of its actions in writing to the UF Senate chair, at least fourteen (14) calendar days before each regularly scheduled meeting of the UF Senate.
  3. At the beginning of each academic year, the chair of this committee shall contact the President of the GSA and request that one (1) graduate student be appointed to serve on the Faculty Senate for a period of one (1) year. Student participation is on a non-voting, advisory basis. Due to the nature of specific agenda items, the student may be excused from participation at the council's discretion.
  4. This legislative council shall meet as often as necessary to conduct its business.

Council Chair:


Council Committees:

Curriculum Subcommittee

Policy Subcommittee

Student Concerns Subcommittee

Liaison to the Committee on Distant Learning

Picture of  Thomas Allen, Ph.D. Thomas Allen, PhD
Sorenson Learning and Communication Center 1223
CGE Term: 2014-2017
Department Affiliation: Educational Neuroscience

Picture of  Thangi Appanah, Ed.D Thangi Appanah, Ed.D
Fowler Hall 302-E
CGE Term: 2012-2015
Department Affiliation: Education

Picture of  Benjamin Bahan, Ph.D Benjamin Bahan, PhD
Sorenson Language and Communication Center 1218
CGE Term: 2014-2017
Department Affiliation: ASL and Deaf Studies

Megan Durkee - Graduate Student Representative
CGE Term: 2015-2016
Department Affiliation: ASL and Deaf Studies

Picture of Karen Garrido-Nag, Ph.D. Karen Garrido-Nag, PhD
Sorenson Learning and Communication Center 2210
CGE Term: 2014-2017
Department Affiliation: Hearing, Speech, & Language Sciences

Beth Gibbons, PhD
Hall Memorial Building W312-A
CGE Term: 2015-2018
Department Affiliation: Psychology

Picture of  Lynda Lytle, Ph.D. Linda Lytle, PhD
Fowler Hall 106
CGE Term: 2013-2016
Department Affiliation: Counseling

Angela McCaskill, PhD
Hall Memorial Building N 302-C
CGE Term: 2015-2018
Department Affiliation: Government and Public Affairs

Picture of  Deb Chen Pichler, Ph.D. Deborah Chen Pichler, PhD
Hall Memorial Building W312-A
CGE Term: 2014-2017
Department Affiliation: Linguistics

Marcha Sheridan, PhD
Hall Memorial Building S338-D
CGE Term: 2013-2016
Department Affiliation: Social Work

Fowler Hall 311

Interdisplicinary Graduate Certificate Programs

CGE Term: 2015-2018

Hall Memorial Building N103-B
CGE Term: 2014-2017
Department Affiliation: Interpretation
About Gallaudet
2014 Presidential Search
Campus Photos
Clerc Center
Contact Us
Employment Opportunities
Fast Facts
Make an Online Gift
Maps & Directions
Media Inquiries
University Communications
Visitors Center
English Language Institute
Financial Aid
Graduate Admissions
Graduate Orientation
International Admissions
Professional Studies
Test Center
Undergraduate Admissions
Academics & Research
Archives/Deaf Collections
Career Center
Catalog & Course Info
General Studies
Graduate Programs
Honors Program
Office of Academic Quality
Professional Studies
Registrar's Office
Research Support and International Affairs
Undergraduate Majors
Campus Life
Bison Shop (bookstore)
Campus Activities
Food Services
Public Safety
Residence Life and Housing
Washington, D.C.
Tools & Resources
Campus Directory
Daily Digest
Help Desk
Gallaudet Alert-subscribe
GU Press
Kellogg Conference Hotel
Maps & Directions
People @ Gallaudet
Shuttle Bus
Gallaudet University | 800 Florida Avenue NE, Washington, DC 20002
Copyright © 2014 Gallaudet University