Doctoral Internships and Research

The internship component of Gallaudet University's Ph.D. program in Interpreting has far-reaching benefits for students, researchers and the profession. Last year, we were awarded the RID grant for a research study designed to investigate the direct discourse of Deaf physicians' communication with Deaf patients. We were fortunate to have had a Gallaudet doctoral student working with us on that project. In our work together, the student had the opportunity to "see behind the curtain" and experience the range of challenges that arise in research work. As a member of the team, he asked questions, made decisions and learned skills necessary for conducting a study independently. This real-world approach to learning prepares students for steps necessary for completing their dissertations and, more importantly, for making scholarly contributions to the field in the future.

For us as researchers, the inclusion of an intern on a project enabled our study to move forward more quickly. Research in interpreting can be time-consuming, particularly for activities such as transcribing and coding data. Having a graduate intern who is motivated and prepared has proven to be a crucial asset to the study. Giving students specific pieces of a project that they can complete independently (with support and direction) allows researchers to advance other parts of the project. Given the limited resources available to many faculty members and researchers, having intern support contributes towards completing crucial phases of a research project.

We anticipate that when the Gallaudet doctoral students graduate, the internship will have helped them develop the critical skills necessary to conduct research, both on their own and as part of collaborative teams. The knowledge and the skills they will have learned from their mentors will have provided a solid foundation for them to make own unique contributions, which will create new knowledge for the interpreting profession.

Laurie Swabey, PhD
Brenda Nicodemus, PhD

(Information about doctoral research)

Daniel Roush
name of project
internship: name of project with name of researcher (link to researcher's page)
daniel.roush@gallaudet.edu

Erica Alley
name of project
internship: name of project with name of researcher (link to researcher's page)
erica.alley@gallaudet.edu

Danielle Hunt
name of project
internship: name of project with name of researcher (link to researcher's page)
danielle.hunt@gallaudet.edu

Folami Ford
name of project
internship: name of project with name of researcher (link to researcher's page)
folami.ford@gallaudet.edu

Joy Marks
name of project
internship: name of project with name of researcher (link to researcher's page)
joy.marks@gallaudet.edu

Leandra Williams
name of project
internship: name of project with name of researcher (link to researcher's page)
leandra.williams@gallaudet.edu

Riccardo Ferracuti
name of project
internship: name of project with name of researcher (link to researcher's page)
riccardo.ferracuti@gallaudet.edu

Roberto Santiago
name of project
internship: name of project with name of researcher (link to researcher's page)
roberto.santiago@gallaudet.edu

Phyllis Rogers
name of project
internship: name of project with name of researcher (link to researcher's page)
phyllis.rogers@gallaudet.edu

Jennifer Cranston
name of project
internship: name of project with name of researcher (link to researcher's page)
jennifer.cranston@gallaudet.edu

Laura Maddux
name of project
internship: name of project with name of researcher (link to researcher's page)
laura.maddux@gallaudet.edu

Mary Autumn
name of project
internship: name of project with name of researcher (link to researcher's page)
mary.autumn@gallaudet.edu

Pamela Collins
name of project
internship: name of project with name of researcher (link to researcher's page)
pamela.collins@gallaudet.edu

Tamar Nelson
name of project
internship: name of project with name of researcher (link to researcher's page)
tamar.nelson@gallaudet.edu

About Gallaudet
2014 Presidential Search
Administration
Campus Photos
Clerc Center
Contact Us
Employment Opportunities
Fast Facts
Make an Online Gift
Maps & Directions
Media Inquiries
Museum
University Communications
Visitors Center
Admissions
English Language Institute
Financial Aid
Graduate Admissions
Graduate Orientation
International Admissions
Professional Studies
Test Center
Undergraduate Admissions
Academics & Research
Archives/Deaf Collections
Career Center
Catalog & Course Info
General Studies
Graduate Programs
Honors Program
Library
Office of Academic Quality
Professional Studies
Registrar's Office
Research Support and International Affairs
Undergraduate Majors
VL2
Campus Life
Athletics
Bison Shop (bookstore)
Campus Activities
Commencement
Food Services
Intramurals
Public Safety
Residence Life and Housing
Washington, D.C.
Tools & Resources
Bison
Campus Directory
Daily Digest
Help Desk
Gallaudet Alert-subscribe
GU Press
Kellogg Conference Hotel
Maps & Directions
my.Gallaudet
People @ Gallaudet
Shuttle Bus
Gallaudet University | 800 Florida Avenue NE, Washington, DC 20002
Copyright © 2014 Gallaudet University
FacebookTwitterYouTube