Shared Governance: Committee on Academic Affairs

Updated January 2018



  • Assure compliance by the University with the spirit and intent of the Acts of Congress;

This Committee has the following authority:

  • Consider and recommend
    • policies related to the addition and deletion of major academic programs; 
    • policies regarding appointment, promotion, tenure, sabbatical leave and dismissal of faculty members; and 
    • individuals for continuous tenure upon recommendation of the administration
  • Evaluate academic, research, and service programs in concept, in process, and in terms of impact on deaf and hard of hearing persons; 
  • Reports to the Board of Trustees


Name Title / Role
Dr. Jorge Diaz-Herrera Chair
Ms. Claire Bugen
Dr. Linda Campbell
Ms. Claudia Gordon  
Dr. Philip Kerstetter  
Ms. Wilma Newhoudt-Druchen  
Dr. Laurene Simms Faculty Representative
Dr. Carol Erting
Ms. Tiffany Williams
Ex Officio
Ms. Roberta Cordano, J.D
Ex Officio