Shared Governance: Council on Undergraduate Education (CUE)

Updated July 2017


The legislative council shall have the following duties and responsibilities:

  1. Establish, approve, and report to the UF Senate:
    1. Minor changes to the undergraduate programs and courses of study offered by the academic departments;
    2. Criteria for admission to and completion of the undergraduate programs; and
    3. Candidates for undergraduate degrees.
  2. Establish, approve, and propose to the UF Senate:
    1. General policies and procedures concerning the nature and scope of undergraduate programs;
    2. New undergraduate programs;
    3. Significant changes, including closures, to existing undergraduate programs;
    4. Criteria for initial appointment of faculty members involved in undergraduate education; and
    5. Policies and procedures as necessary to ensure the quality of education withinundergraduate programs.
  3. Work with the Office of Enrollment Services to assure that the admissions criteria are being followed;
  4. Monitor whether the policies, procedures and criteria established by the legislative councils and standing committees of the UF concerning academic standards are adhered to by the administration; and
  5. Monitor whether the similarly established policies on grading procedures, grade point average formulae, scholastic standing indices and examination protocols are adhered to by the faculty and the administration.


This legislative council shall consist of nine (9) members elected by and from the UF. The nominees for membership must have primary responsibility at the undergraduate level. The council also includes non-voting members from the Registrar's Office, Dean's Office, Academic Advising, Academic and Career Success, Office of Academic Quality and the Student Body Government. Due to the nature of specific agenda items, non-voting members may be excused from participation at the committee's discretion.

Name or Title

Title / Role


Keith Cagle

Associate Professor/INT

2016 - 2019

Johnston Grindstaff


2017 - 2020

Simon Guteng

Associate Professor/EDU

2017 - 2020

Roberto Herrera

Associate Professor/WLC

2016 - 2019

Michael Janger


2016 - 2019

Daniel Lundberg


2016 - 2019 (Sabbatical, Fall 2017)

Adebowale Ogunjirin

Assistant Professor/STM

2016 - 2019

Keith Sanfacon

Lecturer I/PER

2016 - 2019

Deborah Schooler

Associate Professor/PSY, Chair

2015 - 2018 (Sabbatical, Spring 2018)

Felicia Williams

Lecturer I/ASL & DST

2017 - 2020