Shared Governance: National Deaf Education

Updated January 2018



This Committee shall, but without limitation: assure compliance by the University with the spirit and intent of the Acts of Congress; consider and recommend policies regarding the national mission; evaluate national mission, academic, research and service programs in concept, in process and in terms of their national impact on deaf and hard of hearing Pre-College students; consider and recommend policies related to the educational and residential programs of the Kendall Demonstration Elementary School and Model Secondary School for the Deaf; consider and recommend policies regarding employment conditions for teachers in those programs.

This Committee has the following authority:

  • Reports to the Board of Trustees


Name Title / Role
Ms. Claire Bugen Chair
Ms. Claudia Gordon
Mr. Nancy Kelly-Jones
Ms. Wilma Newhoudt-Druchen
Dr. Gina Oliva
Ms. Marianne Belsky
Ms. Nicole Sutliffe
Ms. Tiffany Williams Ex-officio
Ms. Roberta Cordano, J.D. Ex-officio