Shared Governance: Crisis Leadership Team

Updated July, 2013

Back to List of Governance Bodies and Committees


Charged with preparation for and management of various levels of crises. The main functions of the Crisis Leadership Team are:

  • Assessment/Mitigation - Project what might occur, vulnerability assessment, elimination or reduction of the probability of a crisis.
  • Preparation - Develop a response plan to different potential crises.
  • Response - Respond to emergencies and direct emergency resources, plan activation.
  • Recovery and evaluation - Return of conditions to normal or improved levels; assure community well-being; recovery of vital functions; debrief and provide for the evaluation and improvement of the crisis process; reduction of risk of crisis recurrence.

This Committee has the following authority:

The Crisis Leadership Team structure deviates from the normal lines of authority, and the team is empowered to act decisively on behalf of the institution. These procedures apply to all personnel, buildings, and grounds owned and operated by the University.

The President has the executive authority to execute all portions of this plan. The Provost chairs the team with authority to give direction to the team and make final decisions. Collegiality, collaboration, and consensus are important elements of positive group interaction and communication, but these elements must be balanced with the need to be timely and decisive.

Some campus groups have authority to manage a crisis as it happens until the Crisis Leadership Team takes over. The groups with authority to handle crises initially during an emergency are:

  • Department of Public Safety
  • Campus Life University) and Student Life (Clerc Center)
  • Facilities Maintenance and Operations


Name Title / Role Group Represented
Alan Hurwitz
President The University
A. Dwight Benedict
Dean/Chair of C.L.T. Dean of Student Affairs
Cary Barbin
Dir. Clerc Ctr Operations/ Committee Mbr. Office of the Dir Clerc Ctr
Catherine Murphy
Exec. Dir. / Committee Mbr. Public & Media Relations
Don Beil Chief of Staff President's Office
Earl Parks Exec.Director/ Committee Mbr. Gallaudet Technology Services
Ed Bosso
Vice President
Vice President of Clerc Center
Fabienne Collson
Mgr. Communication Services Dept of Public Safety
Gary Aller
Exec. Dir. / Committee Mbr. Business Operations
Lauri Rush Director/ Committee member  Mental Health Ctr
Mary Hufnell
Assistant Prof./ Committee Mbr. Faculty
Mel Batten-Mickens
Executive Director/ Committee Mbr. Facilities
Michael Weinstock

Director/ Committee Member

Nicole Sutliffe
Exec. Dir, Admin & Oper./ Committee Mbr. Office of the Vice Pres. Clerc Ctr.
Pam Rypkema
Manager/ Committee Mbr. Risk Management/Insurance
Paul Kelly
Vice President Vice President of A&F
Rosalyn Prickett
Mgr Institutional Compliance/ Committee Mbr. Office of the Vice Pres Clerc Ctr
Steve Weiner
Provost Academic Affairs
Susan Hanrahan
Director/ Committee Mbr.
Residence Life and Housing
Theodore Baran
Director/ Vice Chair of CLT
Dir, Public Safety
Timothy Frelich
Mgr, Business Svcs & Enrollment/ Committee Mbr.
Office of Exec. Dir. Clerc Ctr.
Yoshiko Chino
Director/ Committee Mbr.
Gallaudet Interpreting Svcs.


Back to List of Governance Bodies and Committees


About Gallaudet
Campus Photos
Clerc Center
Communications and Public Relations
Contact Us
Employment Opportunities
Fast Facts
GU Press
Make an Online Gift
Maps & Directions
Mission & Goals
Visitors Center
English Language Institute
Financial Aid
Global Education and Scholar Services
Graduate Admissions
Graduate Orientation
International Admissions
Professional Studies
Test Center
Undergraduate Admissions
Academics & Research
Undergraduate Majors and Programs
Graduate Programs
Professional Studies
Career Center
Academic Catalog & Course Info
General Studies Program
Honors Program
International Student Services
Gallaudet Research Institute
Visual Language & Visual Learning
Campus Life
Bison Shop (bookstore)
Campus Activities
Food Services
Public Safety
Residence Life and Housing
Washington, D.C.
Tools & Resources
Daily Digest
Campus Directory
Subscribe to Gallaudet Alert
Help Desk
Maps & Directions
People @ Gallaudet
Shuttle Bus Services
Gallaudet University | 800 Florida Avenue NE, Washington, DC 20002
Copyright © 2014 Gallaudet University