Shared Governance: Faculty Welfare Committee

Updated July, 2013

Back to List of Governance Bodies and Committees


  1. Develop and recommend to the UF Senate policies regarding the rights and responsibilities of individual faculty members, as well as those of instructional departments;
  2. Develop, revise and recommend to the UF Senate guidelines for such matters as teaching qualifications, criteria for promotion, merit increases, tenure, reappointment, non-reappointment, retirement, dismissal, leaves of absence, sick leave, academic leave and sabbatical leave. After approval by the UF Senate, the committee shall publish and distribute these guidelines to the UF;
  3. Develop and recommend to the UF Senate guidelines for faculty teaching and workload which recognize the various responsibilities and activities of faculty at the undergraduate and graduate levels of the UF; and
  4. Exercise, at its discretion, the option of appointing an ad hoc committee consisting of one (1) current member and two (2) former members of the Faculty Welfare Committee. The ad hoc committee shall monitor the implementation of UF Guidelines, as approved by the UF Senate, in the following manner:
    1. The departments of instruction shall send to the Faculty Welfare Committee all recommendations for appointment, merit increases, dismissal, promotion, tenure, academic leave and sabbatical leave;
    2. The Faculty Welfare Committee or the ad hoc committee must approve the recommendations of the instructional departments unless there is a clear conflict between the recommendations and the UF Guidelines. The Faculty Welfare Committee shall then advise the department and respective dean of its action;
    3. If the dean rejects without satisfactory explanation the Faculty Welfare Committee's notification that a conflict exists, then the Faculty Welfare Committee shall place the matter upon the agenda of the next meeting of the UF Senate; and
    4. Matters of appointment, promotion, dismissal, academic leave, and sabbatical leave are subject to final action by the University Administration. The Board of Trustees will make final decisions on the granting of tenure.


Standing Committee of seven (7)




Christi Batamula


2012 - 2015

Matthew Bakke

Hearing, Speech & Lang, Science

2011 - 2014

Paige Franklin


2011 - 2014

Patricia Foley

Chair/ Art, Comm., Theater

2012 - 2015

Risa Shaw


Thomas Baldridge


Thomas Horejes

His., Phil., Rel., and Soci.

2011 - 2014

*Subject to consensus approval by the Senate

Back to List of Governance Bodies and Committees


About Gallaudet
Campus Photos
Clerc Center
Communications and Public Relations
Contact Us
Employment Opportunities
Fast Facts
GU Press
Make an Online Gift
Maps & Directions
Mission & Goals
Visitors Center
English Language Institute
Financial Aid
Global Education and Scholar Services
Graduate Admissions
Graduate Orientation
International Admissions
Professional Studies
Test Center
Undergraduate Admissions
Academics & Research
Undergraduate Majors and Programs
Graduate Programs
Professional Studies
Career Center
Academic Catalog & Course Info
General Studies Program
Honors Program
International Student Services
Gallaudet Research Institute
Visual Language & Visual Learning
Campus Life
Bison Shop (bookstore)
Campus Activities
Food Services
Public Safety
Residence Life and Housing
Washington, D.C.
Tools & Resources
Daily Digest
Campus Directory
Subscribe to Gallaudet Alert
Help Desk
Maps & Directions
People @ Gallaudet
Shuttle Bus Services
Gallaudet University | 800 Florida Avenue NE, Washington, DC 20002
Copyright © 2014 Gallaudet University