Peet Hall is located on the south side of the campus, it is a five-story building. It offers both single and double rooms along a corridor with community bathrooms on each floor. All rooms are carpeted and equipped with heating and air-conditioning units, beds, dressers, desks, chairs, closets, and Venetian blinds. Each floor has a TV and study lounge. There is also a basement entrance facing a large brick terrace area. Peet accommodates 143 residents.
Number of Floors: 5 plus Basement
Building History: Originally a female residence hall and became co-ed in 1980
Square Footage: 49,070
Unique Features: Large Outdoor Terrace at the Basement Level
Date of Dedication: November 26, 1957
The room diagram of a typical room in Peet Hall can be viewed here.
Peet Hall was built in 1957 and is the oldest residence hall on campus. It was originally built as a women's residence hall and remained so until 1980 when it became co-ed. Named after Dr. Elizabeth Peet who practically grew up in the Deaf Community. Her mother was deaf and her father was an educator of the Deaf. Her grandfather and father were successive principals of the New York School for the Deaf. After passing the Harvard entrance examinations, she stayed with her father until his death in 1889 and her mother passed on in 1891. She came to Gallaudet in 1900 to teach at Kendall School and the college. Dr. Peet received her Bachelor's from George Washington University in 1918. She received three honorary degrees: Masters' from Gallaudet in 1923, Doctor of Pedagogy from the George Washington University in 1937, and a Doctor of Humane Letters from Gallaudet in 1950. She also received a special certificate from the Sorbonne in Paris, France. Fluent in Latin, English, French, and Spanish as well as being a strict teacher, a mother, a nurse, and a kindly guidance counselor ... all of these qualities made her known as a Kendall Green Mother. The residence hall houses upperclassmen.