Shared Governance: Academic Affairs Management Team (AAMT)

Updated July, 2017


The Academic Affairs Management Team is charged with fulfilling the overall mission of the university, particularly as it relates to academic programs, student affairs and academic support, academic quality, and faculty governance.


The Academic Affairs Management Team derives its authority from the Provost. It functions as a team of advisers to the Provost about policy and program matters.


The Academic Affairs Management Team consists of the Provost, the Associate Provost for Diversity and Inclusion, the Dean of the College of Liberal Arts, Sciences, and Technologies; Dean of the Graduate School and Professional Programs, Dean of Student Affairs and Academic Support, the Executive Director of the Office of Academic Quality, and the University Registrar.

The University Faculty Senate annually appoints one of its Senators as the faculty representative to AAMT. The Interim Chief Enrollment Management Officer and the Chief Information Officer have standing invitations to attend AAMT meetings.

The Special Assistant to the Provost coordinates AAMT operations and meetings. The Academic Affairs Budget Director serves as a resource person.


NameTitle / Role
Khadijat "Kubby" Rashid Interim Dean, School of Education, Business, and Human Human Services
Beth Benedict Professor, Communication Studies
A. Dwight Benedict Dean, Student Affairs and Academic Support
Yoshiko Chino Executive Director, Gallaudet Interpreting Services
Marina Dzougoutov Associate Professor, Communication Studies
Carol J. Erting Provost (Chair)
Reed A. Gershwind Faculty Fellow, Academics Affairs Budget
Genie Gertz Dean, College of Arts and Science
Paul Harrelson Faculty Representative/Department of Interpretation
Lillian Holt Office of the Provost
Gaurav Mathur Dean, Graduate School
Kristin Mulrooney Associate Professor, Linguistics
Edgar Palmer Executive Director, Office of Diversity and Equity for Students
Earl Parks Exec. Director, Gallaudet Technology Services
Elice Nicole Patterson University Registrar
Caroline Pezzarossi Faculty Fellow for Faculty Development
Lillie Ransom Faculty Fellow, Office of the Provost
Charles Reilly Executive Director, Research Support and International Affairs
Caroline Solomon Chair, University Faculty Senate
Elizabeth Stone Office of the Ombuds