Updated August 2020


The purpose of the GSC is to make Gallaudet University a better place to work for everyone. The committee advises the president on matters affecting the staff community. Shares concerns with the president and considers and proposes ideas for improving the general welfare of staff employees.


This Committee has the following authority:

  • Members serve on institutional committees, review and provide input on policies and procedures which pertain to, or impact on, staff. Participates in the dispute resolution process by serving as the panel which hears staff grievances.
  • Reports to the president


Name Title / Role Group Represented 
Nikki Surber Chair Gallaudet Staff Council
Andy Schewe Vice Chair Gallaudet Staff Council
Elvia Guillermo Aguilar Secretary Gallaudet Staff Council
Robert Weinstock Parliamentarian Gallaudet Staff Council
Jacquelyn Lally GSC Senator-at-Large for Faculty Senate Gallaudet Staff Council
Deborah Duren Representative  Academic Affairs
Vivienne Schroeder Representative Academic Affairs
Davina Kwong Yu Representative    Administration 
Jennie Sivak Representative Administration 
Maria Silva Representative Administration
Michael Peterson Representative Clerc Center
Alexander Leffers Representative Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
Jamie Lafady Representative Finance
Jared Evans Representative Gallaudet Technology Services
Shara Winesberg Representative Office of the President
Joshua Miller Representative Student Affairs