Every year, Professor Emeritus awards are presented at Commencement to individuals selected by the faculty Committee on Honorary Degrees and approved by the Gallaudet University Board of Trustees. On October 11, 2013, President Hurwitz announced that the following from our department had been awarded Professor Emeritus or Professor Emerita status. 

  • Dr. Robert E. Johnson, Department of Linguistics
  • Dr. Scott K. Liddell, Department of Linguistics
  • Dr. Ceil Lucas, Department of Linguistics

Candidates for Professor Emeritus must have 20 or more years of distinguished service as a faculty member, and must have retired within the last ten years, i.e., since 2005.