Updated July 2021


The purpose of the GSC is to make Gallaudet University a better place to work for everyone. The committee advises the president on matters affecting the staff community. Shares concerns with the president and considers and proposes ideas for improving the general welfare of staff employees.


This Committee has the following authority:

  • Members serve on institutional committees, review and provide input on policies and procedures which pertain to, or impact on, staff. Participates in the dispute resolution process by serving as the panel which hears staff grievances.
  • Reports to the president


  1. Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Excellence
  2. Transparency
  3. Communication
  4. Shared Governance
  5. Professional Growth


The Gallaudet Staff Council commits as a shared governance body to represent and advocate for staff members of Gallaudet University and Clerc Center. We are a collective body geared towards equity, diversity, and inclusion, through engagement, empowerment, and growth.


  • GSC is an inclusive and influential stakeholder that will represent staff at Gallaudet University and Clerc Center when addressing policies and procedures that impact staff.
  • GSC will be available to provide resources for staff at Gallaudet University and Clerc Center to share and address concerns and provide options to create an equitable work environment for everyone.
  • GSC will promote staff involvement in meetings, committees, professional development, and events.
  • GSC communications will align with the University's bilingual mission statement.


Name Title / Role Group Represented 
Nikki Surber Chair Gallaudet Staff Council
Jared Evans Vice Chair Gallaudet Staff Council
Elvia Guillermo Aguilar Secretary Gallaudet Staff Council
Robert Weinstock Parliamentarian Gallaudet Staff Council
Jacquelyn Lally GSC Senator-at-Large for Faculty Senate Gallaudet Staff Council
Cassaundra Roberson Representative  Academic Affairs
Heidi Zornes-Foster Representative Academic Affairs
Kai Gagnon Representative    Academic Affairs
Darlene Prickett Representative    Academic Affairs
Jennie Sivak Representative Administration 
Yoel Krigsman Representative Administration
Amber Marchut Representative Clerc Center
Tyese Wright Representative Clerc Center
Shara Winesberg Representative Division of Communication, Marketing, and Undergraduate Admissions
Alexander Leffers Representative Division of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
Jamie Lafady Representative Finance
Deborah Duren Representative Office of the Chief Bilingual Officer
Vacant Representative Office of the President
Joshua Miller Representative Student Affairs