Skip to main content

English

The English Department at MSSD aims to develop and strengthen students’ bilingual literacy skills including ASL reception and expression and English reading and writing so that they can recognize, analyze, interpret, argue, reframe, and express in a variety of contexts. ASL and English literacy is a key factor in our Deaf students’ ability to continually expand their knowledge, achieve their post-secondary goals, and participate in the society.

 In our English classes at MSSD, students read and interpret texts, learn how to use conventions of American Sign Language and English to clarify their signed and written messages, and use critical thinking and communication skills to create and present messages in both languages.

Instruction is tailored to each student based on Common Core standards,  Clerc Center K-12 ASL standards, their Individual Education Program goals, and their postsecondary transition plans.

Brittany Farr: No Picture

Brittany Farr

Teacher

10th grade & AP Language

brittany.farr@gallaudet.edu

Katherine Fetzer: olive green shirt and long brown hair

Katherine Fetzer

Teacher

11th grade

katherine.fetzer@gallaudet.edu

Shea Jefferson: White shirt with black cardigan and short black hair

Shea Jefferson

Teacher

9th grade

shea.jefferson@gallaudet.edu

Amy Malone: black shirt with long blonde and grey hair

Amy Malone

Teacher

11th grade

amy.malone@gallaudet.edu

Arathy Manoharan: white and black patterned shirt with short black and blonde hair

Arathy Manoharan

Teacher

9th grade

arathy.manoharan@gallaudet.edu

Trisha Waddell: black shirt with pink flower pattern and long brown hair

Trisha Waddell

Teacher

10th grade, Pre-AP & Grifffin Chronicles/Yearbook

trisha.waddell@gallaudet.edu

David Warn: blue gingham shirt with dark blue jacket and purple tie, brown buzz cut hair and beard

David Warn

Teacher

12th grade & AP Literature

david.warn@gallaudet.edu

}