"Making a Difference: Deaf Peace Corps Volunteers"

The Gallaudet University Museum presents: "Making a Difference: Deaf Peace Corps Volunteers" opening on October 25th, 2011. Please plan to attend this important event, which includes a panel discussion, exhibition opening, and living exhibit performance.

Panel Discussion with Deaf and Hearing Returned Peace Corps Volunteers: 12:30-1:30 p.m., JSAC G-Area. Moderated by international development student Austin Vigil and hosted by the Regional, National, and International Outreach Unit, this panel discussion will include deaf and hearing returned Peace Corps Volunteers, explore ways their experiences align or diverge, and examine best practices in international development work.
Returned Peace Corps Volunteers serving on the panel:

  • Lisette Belanger, ’73 B.A., ’83 M.A.--(Philippines 1978 - 81)
  • Nancy Walla,’79--(Philippines, 1982-85)
  • William Eiffler--(Ecuador 1983-85)
  • Jerry Geist, '88--(Ecuador 1988 -1994)
  • Sitara Sheikh--(Kenya 2000-03)
  • Darcy White--(Kenya 2003-05)
  • Caitlin Hudson, current Gallaudet student, international development--(Kenya 2006-09)
  • Leah Maxson,’11--(Kenya 2005-07)

Gallaudet University Museum Exhibition Opening, "Making a Difference: Deaf Peace Corps Volunteers"
Reception: 2–4 p.m., JSAC, The Weyerhauser Family Gallery and Exhibition Hall
Remarks at 2:30 p.m. by:

  • Gallaudet President T. Alan Hurwitz
  • Peace Corps Director Aaron S. Williams
  • Exhibition Senior Advisor Norma Morán
  • National Peace Corps Association Director of Communications Erica Burman
  • Gallaudet Museum Director Jane Norman

Living Exhibit Performance: 4:15–5:15 p.m., Eastman Studio (Black Box) Theater, Elstad Auditorium
Directed by Tabitha Jacques, six returned Peace Corps Volunteers will share stories of their personal Peace Corps journey in a theatrical setting.
Stories from:

  • Francesca Rangel, ‘90--(Ecuador, 1990-92)
  • Cookie (Brand) Roang, ’02--(Kenya, 2001-03)
  • Sarah Gordon--(Kenya, 2007-09)
  • Guy Vollmar--(Philippines, 1975-77)
  • Denise Brown, '87--(St. Lucia, 1989-91)
  • Alyson Urdhal--(Ecuador, 1990-92)