In 2001, Robert McConnell won his second consecutive National Championship trophy as the only holdover from MSSD's 2000 championship team. 

Number of Regional teams: 59 (maximum was 60 at the time)

Number of National teams: 5

National Competition teams:

California School for the Deaf, Fremont (West)
Florida School for the Deaf and Blind (Southeast)
John Hersey High School (Midwest)
Model Secondary School for the Deaf (Mid-Atlantic)
Rochester School for the Deaf (Northeast)

National Championship match:

MSSD defeated John Hersey HS

Third Place match:

Florida SDB defeated CSD Fremont

MSSD Team Roster:

Rachel Burton
Robert McConnell
Michael Higgins
Earl Mikell

Model SSD team