In 2000, the Third Place match was played for the first time. EDCO @ Newton North HS was the first team to compete for four consecutive years at the National competition. 

Number of Regional teams: 54
Number of National teams: 5

National Competition teams:

Florida School for the Deaf and Blind (Southeast)
EDCO @ Newton North High School (Northeast)
Model Secondary School for the Deaf (Mid-Atlantic)
Shawnee Mission East High School (Midwest)
University High School (West)

National Championship match:
MSSD defeated Shawnee Mission East HS (KS)

Third Place match:
Florida SDB defeated EDCO @ Newton North HS

MSSD Team Roster:

Bellamie Bachleda
Jonathan Chanin
Robert McConnell
LaToya Plummer
Darlene Tropp

Model SSD team