In 2002, the National competition was expanded to 10 teams which meant the top two teams from each Regional competition was invited to the National competition. The Most Outstanding Player was also awarded for the first time with Tim Woodford winning the first ever MOP award.

Number of Regional Teams: 62
Number of National Teams: 10

National Competition Teams:

California School for the Deaf, Riverside (West)
Florida School for the Deaf and Blind (Southeast)
Indiana School for the Deaf (Midwest)
La Follette High School (Midwest)
Louisiana School for the Deaf (Southeast)
Model Secondary School for the Deaf (Mid-Atlantic)
Monroe #1 BOCES (Northeast)
Rockville High School (Mid-Atlantic)
University High School (West)
Webster School District (Northeast)

National Championship match:
Florida SDB defeated University HS

Third Place match:
Rockville HS defeated Indiana SD

Most Outstanding Player:
Tim Woodford, Senior, Florida SDB

Florida SDB Championship Team Roster:

Alex Abenchuchan
Hardy Parker
Amanda Willard
Tim Woodford

Florida SDB