Shared Governance: Tenure & Promotion

Updated July, 2016

Back to List of Governance Bodies and Committees


To make recommendations to the GSPP and CLAST deans on applications for tenure and promotion.

Duties and Responsibilities

  1. The Tenure and Promotion Committee will review all official paperwork as well as an abridged file prepared by the candidate. The committee may be given, upon its request, access to the entire file of the candidate. The Committee's review shall focus solely on whether or not the candidate has met the criteria for promotion or tenure established by the candidate's department.
  2. At the end of its review, the Tenure and Promotion Committee shall submit its recommendation to the Dean, the candidate, and the candidate's department chair. The report to the candidate and to the candidate's department chair shall consist solely of a statement of the committee's specific decision to support or not to support the requested personnel action.
  3. Faculty who appeal a tenure or promotion decision to The Grievances Committee may use the Tenure and Promotion Committee's recommendation to the Dean as part of their appeal. In the event the Dean has not followed a recommendation by the Tenure and Promotion Committee, Faculty may ask for the Committee to comment in writing on the Dean's rationale. Page 14 of the University Faculty Bylaws, Amended April 28, 2008
  4. The committee members shall be expected to maintain the highest standards of confidentiality in all matters relevant to service on this committee.

This Committee has the following authority:

  • Makes recommendations to Deans


The committee shall consist of 9 members, 7 elected by the Faculty and 2 appointed by the Chair of the Faculty. Membership will be divided between CLAST and GSPP faculty in the same ratio as the number of faculty in each school.




Brian Greenwald


2016 - 2019

Daniel Koo


2016 - 2019

James Nickerson

UGF/Science, Technology & Mathematics

2015 - 2018

Kendra Smith

GF/Counseling 2016 - 2019

Ethan Sinnott


2014 - 2017

Qi Wang


2016 - 2019

Christine Yukins


2016 - 2019

*appointed by Faculty Chair
**Subject to consensus approval by the Senate


Back to List of Governance Bodies and Committees


About Gallaudet
Campus Photos
Clerc Center
Contact Us
Employment Opportunities
Fast Facts
Make an Online Gift
Maps & Directions
Media Inquiries
University Communications
Visitors Center
English Language Institute
Financial Aid
Graduate Admissions
Graduate Orientation
International Admissions
Professional Studies
Test Center
Undergraduate Admissions
Academics & Research
Archives/Deaf Collections
Career Center
Catalog & Course Info
General Studies
Graduate Programs
Honors Program
Office of Academic Quality
Professional Studies
Registrar's Office
Research Support and International Affairs
Undergraduate Majors
Campus Life
Bison Shop (bookstore)
Campus Activities
Food Services
Public Safety
Residence Life and Housing
Washington, D.C.
Tools & Resources
Campus Directory
Help Desk
Gallaudet Alert-subscribe
GU Press
Kellogg Conference Hotel
Maps & Directions
People @ Gallaudet
Shuttle Bus
Gallaudet University | 800 Florida Avenue NE, Washington, DC 20002
Copyright © 2016 Gallaudet University