Religious Holidays during the 2017-2018 Academic Year

This is not an inclusive list and there may be other holidays that pose conflicts for students. If so, please contact thomas.horejes@gallaudet.edu.

Dates Observance
Thursday, *Aug. 31 - Monday, Sept. 1, 2017 Eid al-Adha
Friday, Sept. 15, 2017  Krishna Janmashtami
Thursday, *Sept. 21 - Friday, Sept. 22, 2017  Rosh Hashana
Saturday, Sept. 30, 2017  Yom Kippur

Thursday, *Oct. 5 - Friday, Oct. 6, 2017 and

Saturday, *Oct. 7 - Wednesday, Oct. 11, 2017

Sukkot
Thursday, Oct. 12, 2017  Shemini Atzeret
Friday Oct. 13, 2017  Simchat Torah
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 Ash Wednesday
Friday, February 16, 2018 Lunar New Year
Monday, February 19, 2018 Eastern Orthodox Beginning of Lent
Monday, February 19, 2018 Great Lent Begins
Wednesday, *Feb. 28 - Thursday, March 1, 2018 Purim
Friday, *March 30 - Saturday, April 7, 2018 Pesach/Passover
Friday, March 30, 2018 Good Friday
Friday, April 6, 2018 Holy Friday
Thursday, May 17, 2018 Ascension Day

* After sundown

Gallaudet University Guidance to Students Regarding Potential Conflicts
Between
the Academic and Religious Calendars

Although Gallaudet University, as an institution, does not observe religious holidays, it has long been the University’s policy that every reasonable effort should be made to help students avoid negative academic consequences when their religious obligations conflict with academic requirements. Absence from classes or examinations for religious reasons does not relieve students from responsibility for any part of the course work required during the period of absence. Students who expect to miss classes, examinations, or other assignments as a consequence of their religious observance shall be provided with a reasonable alternative opportunity to complete such academic responsibilities. It is the obligation of students to provide faculty with reasonable notice of the dates of religious holidays on which they will be absent. Students who are absent on days of examinations or class assignments shall be offered an opportunity to make up the work, without penalty, unless it can be demonstrated that a make-up opportunity would interfere unreasonably with the delivery of the course. Should disagreement arise over any aspect of this policy, the parties involved should contact the Department Chair, the Dean of the School, or the Ombudsperson. Final appeals will be resolved by the Provost.